Embed video
CSTO Allies: 30 years protecting collective security

Post-Soviet alliance fighting terrorism and protecting common interests

At the beginning of 2022, CSTO forces entered Kazakhstan to prevent a threatened coup. Terrorists used riots caused by doubled gas prices as a pretext to remove the Kazakhstan government. CSTO forces arrived on January 7 2022. They secured the most important government buildings and helped Kazakh forces establish peace on the streets. According to Kazakhstan President Kassym-Jomart Tokayev, the arrival of CSTO forces destroyed terrorists’ plans to attack the country’s capital and made them retreat.

The CSTO (Collective Security Treaty Organisation) was created on May 15 1992. Today it is a strong alliance of six post-Soviet countries: the Russian Federation, Belarus, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan. When necessary, they stick to diplomacy and politics and joint military exercises. The alliance has 30,000 well-trained soldiers who secure the borders of CSTO from terrorists, drug trafficking and illegal migration. Only in 2021, CSTO forces had seven full-scale military exercises in every alliance country, preparing to act in all kinds of situations. They serve to protect every member. Some say CSTO is a Eurasian version of NATO. Is it so?